Uncategorized

3 Years

I sat in a consultants room and was told that without surgery my heart would give up within the next 3 years. I was scared, I was worried, but I was also immensely thankful. You see just a couple of months earlier at just 39 I had had a stoke, I’m sure by now your wondering why I was thankful? But because of the tests that had been done, they had heard the heart murmur and had investigated further discovering I needed an aortic valve replacement and aneurism repair! To be honest I had put the shortness of breath and struggle to get around down to me being so overweight. Without the stroke I would never of gone to the gp with my symptoms, I would of just carried on until, well just until.

The months that followed, were dark I cried daily and was convinced that I would not make it through. As much as I knew I should, I couldn’t bring myself to tackle my weight before surgery, I mean who wants to spent their last days on earth on a diet?? This was closely followed by the guilt, that if I died, I would of let my children down so I cried some more.

Happily that is not the end of my story, The surgery was done and January 2016 marked the beginning of finally addressing my weight, it’s been slow but that’s ok. I’m getting there, I owe this to myself, to my children and for all those prayers through my tears.

xx

 

Leave a Reply

